FIVB History of Beach Volleyball
Beach volleyball history, players, and locations of FIVB tournaments

History of Beach Volleyball and the Fédération Internationale de Volleyball (FIVB)

In 1986, the first international Beach Volleyball exhibition in Rio de Janeiro is held with 5,000 spectators. Also, at the Brazilian Volleyball Champions, beach volleyball players Jackie Silva, Isabel Salgado, Renan, Badá, William, Montanaro, Jackie Silva, Isabel Salgado, Vera Mossa, Regina Uchoa, along with the American beach players Pat Powers and Sinjin Smith become leading figures in the international growth of Beach Volleyball. Also in 1986, the Australian Pro Beach Circuit starts.

In 1987, the first international FIVB sanctioned Beach Volleyball tournament is run in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil. The prize money is $22,000. Sinjin Smith and Randy Stoklos are the winners. In 1990, the first FIVB Beach Volleyball International Circuit has a total of $140,000 in prize money. The tournament is named the World Series and is made up of men's tournaments in Brazil, Italy, and Japan. Many fans are left standing out of the sold out stadium while Sinjin Smith and Randy Stoklos become the Men's World Champions.

History of Beach Volleyball

In 1992

, prize money reaches $950,000 for the Beach Volleyball World Series. The Series is made up of six events.

The first ever women's FIVB Beach Volleyball competition in the history of beach volleyball takes place in Almeria, Spain.

The first Women World Champions are Nancy Reno and Karolyn Kirby.

Sinjin Smith and Randy Stoklos become World Champions for the 5th time.

In 1993, for the first time in the history of beach volleyball, volleyball becomes an Olympic sport when the International Olympic Committee grants the sport medal status. Twenty-four men's teams and eighteen women's teams will compete for the first Beach Volleyball Olympic Gold Medal in the upcoming 1996 Atlanta Olympics.

Franco Neto and Roberto Lopes of Brazil are the first non-Americans to win the Men's World Champions. Karolyn Kirby and Liz Masakayan are the Women's World Champions.

In 1994, the FIVB Beach Volleyball World Series tops 1 million dollars in total prize money with twelve tournaments. In 1994, Beach Volleyball is included in the Goodwill Games held in St. Petersburg, Russia.

Brazil, United States, and Chile host Women's FIVB Beach Volleyball events.

The Men's World Champions are Jan Kvalheim and Bjorn Maaseide (Norway) and the Women's World Champions are Mônica Rodrigues and Adriana Samuel (Brazil).

In 1995, the FIVB Beach Volleyball World Championship Series has 27 total tournaments for both the men and women providing $3.5 million in prize money.

Brazilian team Franco Neto and Roberto Lopes win the World Championships. Franco and Roberto set a record with seven tournament wins in the season. Jackie Silva and Sandra Pires are the Women's Champions.

In 1996, the FIVB Beach Volleyball World Championships Series holds 29 tournaments and prize money is up to $4.3 million.

The Brazilians Zé Marco and Emanuel Rego dominate the World Championships Jackie Silva and Sandra Pires win the Women's Championships. Rego sets the men's FIVB record for prize money in a season, $174,000.

In 1997, Brazilians Zé Marco and Emanuel Rego control the Tour Championships for the third straight year repeating as the Men's Champions. Adriana Behar and Shelda Bede win the Women's Championships.

In 1998, the first time in the history of beach volleyball FIVB World Tour, men and women players are rewarded the same total prize money, $170,000.

Teams receive information on how to qualify for the next Olympics. Twenty-four men's teams along with the same number of women's teams will compete in the 2000 Olympic Games in Sydney.

A huge television campaign gives great exposure to the World Tour.

Beach Volleyball is included as a major sport for the South East Asian Games, Central and Pan-American Games, and Universiade.

The FIVB introduces new opportunities to amateurs by providing Challenger, Satellite, and Amateur tournaments.

More than 120 National Federations now have regular Beach Volleyball events.

In 1999, the Men's and Women's World Championships are organized in Europe for the first time in the history of beach volleyball.

For the first time, Beach Volleyball is included in the Pan American Games.

Brazilians Jose Loiola and Emanuel Rego and Adriana Behar and Shelda Bede dominate the World Championships again.

In 2000, Brazilians dominate the men's season with three teams combining to win nine of the thirteen events. The American women dominated the women's season with three teams finishing in the top four in rankings and combining to win seven of the thirteen events.

In 2004, Misty May and Kerri Walsh extend a winning streak to 14 tournament victories after beating Holly McPeak and Elaine Youngs at the Hellas Open. Misty and Kerris streak of 14 consecutive tournaments breaks Karch Kiraly/Kent Steffes and Greg Lee/Jim Menges record of 13.

Shelda Bede and Adriana Behar get the most wins in the history of beach volleyball by a women's team with their 31st victory together in the Japan Open.

In 2005, Adriana Behar, with her bronze medal finish at the Swiss Open in Gstaad, becomes the first woman ever in the history of beach volleyball to top one million dollars in FIVB career winnings.

If you enjoyed these tips and would like to keep it close to you at any time, just save this pin to your Pinterest Volleyball Training Board.

Fun Facts History of Beach Volleyball

History of Beach Volleyball Related Pages

Who invented the game?

AVP Volleyball History

› History of Beach